© 2016 Created by Madison Public Schools Students. Proudly created with Wix.com

Join a Practice Group

Assessing and Programing for Soft Skills in Transition

Will provide recommendations for assessing soft skills for transition including social, adaptive, and executive functioning skills that are critical to the success of young adults with disabilities particularly those on the Autism Spectrum. Initially, this group will develop a document focusing on assessments in relevant contexts such as employment, community, and postsecondary settings that can guide transition programming. Specific recommendations/models of service delivery necessary to develop skills in these domains to follow.

Co-Facilitators:

Carol Barans

cbb58@comcast.net

 

Nick Gelbar

gelbar@uchc.edu

Calendar, Events and Cross Training

Will provide recommendations for assessing soft skills for transition including social, adaptive, and executive functioning skills that are critical to the success of young adults with disabilities particularly those on the Autism Spectrum. Initially, this group will develop a document focusing on assessments in relevant contexts such as employment, community, and postsecondary settings that can guide transition programming. Specific recommendations/models of service delivery necessary to develop skills in these domains to follow.

Co-Facilitators:

Amy Norton

anorton@eastconn.org

 

Missy Wrigley

wrigley@ctserc.org

 ­

Employment

Meeting the mandates for the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA), this Practice Group will support the shift from working as separate entities to developing collaborative partnerships to assist students to transition into competitive employment.  The impact of WIOA on students, school systems, employers, DORS/BRS and other state agencies and employers will be addressed.

Co-Facilitators:

Myra Scott

Myra.Scott@ct.gov

 

Karin McMahon

kmc4la@aol.com 

CT Secondary Transition Youth Advisory Board

With an increased emphasis on Student Voice and Youth Leadership and Development both at the federal and state levels, this group will explore ways to increase the capacity of youth with disabilities to understand their rights and responsibilities and to become effective self-advocates. Barriers to participation in the transition process and involvement in statewide activities where the student voice should be represented will be explored. Will identify various methods to deliver information and training to youth in an effort to help them find their voices and support them in sharing information to help professionals create programs that will better serve students/youth.

Facilitators:

Beth Reel

breel@cpacinc.org

 

Transition and Healthcare/Mental Health

Increased national and state focus on the transition of youth with disabilities from pediatric to adult health care services and the specific needs of individuals with mental health disabilities as they transition into adulthood has resulted in the development of a wide range of activities and interest groups in CT. This Practice Group will help to coordinate the efforts of these groups and facilitate the coordination of information dissemination and services.

Co-Facilitators:

Robin Tousey-Ayers

Robin.tousey-ayers@ct.gov

 

Karen Hensley

kHensley@abhct.com

Transition Timeline

Facilitating the development of an electronic timeline of activities and resources to facilitate transition skills across the lifespan – from early childhood through adulthood.

Co-Facilitators:

Lynn Fogg-Cornelio

Lynn.fogg-cornelio@ct.gov

Website Resources

Identify and vet website submissions of transition resources. Ensure existing resources are kept up-to-date.

Co-Facilitators:

Kate Dutton

kdutton@wlps.org

 

Judy Taddei

Taddei.j@easthartford.org

Please reload